Австралия: Женщина подожгла карантинный отель?


Женщина была арестована и обвинена в поджоге в Квинсленде, Австралия, после того как она, по сообщениям, подожгла отель, где она и двое ее детей были вынуждены провести две недели на карантине.

Пожар охватил верхний этаж отеля Pacific в северо-восточном городе Кэрнс в воскресенье утром, заставив эвакуировать более 160 постояльцев.

Никто не пострадал, но ущерб, нанесенный зданию, был "значительным" и вынудил власти переселить людей в другие карантинные помещения Covid-19.

Власти сообщили, что 31-летняя женщина зажгла огонь под своей кроватью, проведя в отеле всего "пару дней" из обязательного двухнедельного карантина после пересечения Квинсленда из другого штата. До этого инцидента она, как сообщается, доставляла персоналу другие неуточненные неприятности во время своего пребывания в отеле.

Двое ее детей были взяты под защиту полиции, а женщине были предъявлены обвинения в поджоге и умышленном нанесении ущерба, и она должна явиться в суд в понедельник.

За время пандемии Covid-19 в Австралии было зарегистрировано около 2 000 смертей, поскольку Австралия прибегла к самым драконовским в мире мерам lockdown и карантину, затрагивающим не только международные поездки, но и поездки между штатами, в попытке сдержать распространение инфекции до тех пор, пока большинство населения не будет вакцинировано.

Как раз в тот момент, когда страна наконец-то готовилась вновь открыть свои границы для квалифицированных мигрантов и студентов 1 декабря, первые случаи нового варианта коронавируса Omicron были обнаружены у путешественников из южной Африки, что может сорвать этот план.

Australia: Did Woman set Fire to Quarantine Hotel?


Covid 24

A woman has been arrested and charged with arson in Queensland, Australia after she reportedly set fire to a hotel where she and her two kids were forced to quarantine for two weeks.

The blaze engulfed the top floor of the Pacific Hotel in the northeastern city of Cairns on Sunday morning, forcing the evacuation of more than 160 guests.

Covid 21

There were no injuries, but the damage to the building was “significant” and forced authorities to relocate people to other Covid-19 quarantine facilities.

Covid 22

Authorities said a 31-year-old woman lit a fire underneath her bed, after spending only a “couple of days” of the mandatory two-week quarantine inside the hotel after crossing into Queensland from another state. Before the incident, she also reportedly had caused other unspecified troubles for the staff during her stay.

Covid 23

Her two children were taken under police protection, while the woman was charged with arson and willful damage, and is due to appear in court on Monday.

Over the course of the Covid-19 pandemic, Australia has recorded just around 2,000 deaths as it resorted to some of the world’s most draconian lockdown and quarantine measures, affecting not only international but also interstate travel, in a bid to keep infections as low as possible until a majority of the population is vaccinated.

Just as the country was finally preparing to reopen its borders to skilled migrants and students on December 1, the first cases of the new Omicron coronavirus variant were detected in travelers from southern Africa, potentially derailing the plan.